calendar icon Sun, January 26, 2020

Celebrated on January 26 every year, Republic Day fills the hearts of all Indians with pride and patriotism. It was on this day that the Constitution of India came into force in 1950. Though India became independent on August 15, 1947, it was declared a Sovereign, Democratic and Republic state on January 26, 1950. After a salute of 21 guns and the unfurling of the National Flag by the First President of the country, Dr Rajendra Prasad, this day was recognised as the Republic Day of India and decreed a national holiday.

How is it celebrated?
The celebrations of the day start with a grand parade in the national capital, Delhi. Starting from Raisina Hill near Rashtrapati Bhavan (President's House), it passes along Rajpath, India Gate, and finally stops at the Red Fort. The highlight of the event is the wreath laying at the Amar Jawan Jyoti, near India Gate, by the Prime Minister. This is done to commemorate the soldiers who sacrificed their lives for the country. Another significant event is a 21 gun salute, after which the President unfurls the National Flag. The parade starts soon after.

The first phase of the parade sees gallantry awards winners passing by the President in open jeeps, who takes the salute as the Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Armed Forces. Tanks, radars, missiles, and other weapons of the Indian Army are put on display. This is followed by the President presenting awards and medals to members of the Indian Armed Forces and civilians for acts of valour. Helicopters fly past the area and shower rose petals on the people gathered there.
The event also sees a cultural parade in which India's rich and colourful heritage is displayed. Various states present their unique cultures with diverse tableaus that give a glimpse of their festivals, art forms and historical landmarks.
One of the best elements of the event is the fly-past of the Air Force. In this, the fighter pilots fly past the dais, a sort of symbolic salute to the President. 
Locally, the celebrations see the unfurling of the National Flag by the Governor, talukas and panchayats.