Rooted in history, Mayiladuthurai is a popular pilgrimage site. Situated on the banks of River Cauvery, the town is dotted with temples, the most prominent of which is the Mayuranathaswami Temple. Dedicated to Lord Shiva, who is worshipped as Mayuranathar, the temple has an interesting legend associated with it. As the story goes, Goddess Parvati had been cursed to be turned into a peahen and she came here to worship Lord Shiva in that form. Thus, the town was named Mayiladuthurai or peacock town. Devotees can also set on a temple trail of nine shrines dedicated to navgraha. These nine temples are dedicated to the nine planets of Hindu astrology, which are Sooryan (Sun), Chandran (Moon), Sevvai (Mars), Budhan (Mercury), Guru (Jupiter), Sukkiran (Venus), Saneeswaran (Saturn), Rahu (North Lunar Node) and Kethu (South Lunar Node).

Other Attractions in Thanjavur