With Sree Venkatachalapathy as the presiding deity, the temple was built by Gowda Saraswat Brahmins who hailed from the state of Karnataka but had settled in Kerala. However, the temple’s architecture has similarity with the ones in Tamil Nadu, and not Kerala.  The deities in the temple are placed on three steps. On either side of the principle deity, Sree Venkatachalapathy, are placed the idols of Goddess Laxmi Devi and Goddess Bhumi Devi on the first step. The second step is graced with the Utsav moorthy of Varadaraja with Laxmi Devi and Bhumi Devi on either sides. The third step has two samputas containing salagramas. Inside the temple are smaller shrines dedicated to Lord Shiva, Lord Hanuman, Guru Swamy and Naga devta. Built in 1822 AD, the temple is located near the District Collectorate.


Other Attractions In Kollam