When Roman Catholics arrived in Bihar, they built a small church in 1713 at a place now known as Padri-ki-Haveli. Nawab Mir Qasim destroyed this church because of the quarrel with the British. The current church was re-designed by a Venetian architect Tirreto in 1772. The foundation stone of this huge church has a dimension of 70 feet in length, 40 feet wide and 50 feet in height. Today, the monument stands as an architectural wonder with intricate details that can be seen in few other churches of India.