Vishram Ghat


The traditional Parikrama (circumambulation of all the important religious and cultural places of the city) starts from Vishram Ghat and ends here. The 12 ghats of the Yamuna to the north of Vishram Ghat include Ganesh Ghat, Dashashwamedh Ghat with its Neelakantheshwar Temple, Saraswati Sangam Ghat, Chakratirtha Ghat, Krishnaganga Ghat, Somatirth or Swami Ghat, Ghantagharan Ghat, Dharapattan Ghat, Vaikuntha Ghat, Navtirtha or Varahkshetra Ghat, Asikunda ghat or Brahma-tirtha Ghat.

To the south, there are 11 ghats. The Vishram Ghat is lined with elegant temples and some of the most important shrines of Mathura that includes - the Mukut Temple, Radha-Damodar, Murli Manohar, Neelkantheshwar, Yamuna-Krishna, Langali Hanuman and Narasimha temples. The ‘Aarti’ held at the Vishram Ghat every evening is something that shouldn't be missed, for the little oil lamps that are floated on the river set the placid water sparkle with countless flickering lights. No pilgrimage to Mathura is complete without a visit to its kunds or sacred ponds. Traditionally there were 159 ancient kunds but now only four have survived. These include Shiv Tal, Potara Kund associated closely with Lord Krishna besides the Balbhadra and Saraswati kunds.